Report serious injuries and fatalities
All California employers must immediately report to Cal/OSHA any work-related death, serious injury or illness. You’re encouraged to do so by telephone.
You can report incidents 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by contacting the nearest Cal/OSHA location.
For additional locations, visit California’s Department of Industrial Relations website.
Any employer who fails to report an employee’s injury, illness or death in a timely manner, in violation of section 342(a) of Title 8 of the California Code of Regulations, shall be assessed a minimum penalty of $5,000.
- Have a procedure in place to handle emergencies and OSHA visits.
- Designate a manager to answer OSHA questions and to accompany the inspector.
- Have a copy of your safety programs and training records organized and readily available.
Read Work Comp Connect
Sign up to receive updates from our blog Work Comp Connect. Receive expert advice to keep your workplace safe and OSHA complaint.
Know the law
Visit Cal/OSHA’s website for information on required notifications, postings, recordkeeping and more.
Additionally, you may find these Cal/OSHA resources helpful:
Reporting Work-Connected Injuries
Definitions Under California Occupational Safety and Health Act